Margarita Pizza…MAKE ME!

One of my most favorite things to make…and I’ve gotten pretty damn good at it if I may say so myself. Last night I changed things up a bit and used a new thin crust and it totally rocked my world (my guest’s socks were also knocked off)! The crust was perfectly stable and crunchy/chewy. The cheese made me dance. And the sauce…I live for this pizza sauce. Please, please, PLEASE try this. It couldn’t be easier. Seriously. (I would have taken a picture but it wasn’t around long enough for me to grab my camera, so i stole this one…..mine actually looked better…*GASP*)

FYI- Start the sauce before the crust!

Margarita Pizza
Makes 2 servings (one of if you’re married to a man named John).

For the sauce:
4 Roma Tomatoes
Olive oil (1-2 tablespoons)
Red pepper flakes to taste
1 Tsp Sugar
Splash of white wine (I use a chardonnay)
1/2 Tsp Salt
2 Cloves Garlic

– Poach the tomatoes in boiling water for 1 minute to remove the skins.
– Heat olive oil over medium heat and add garlic. Stir for 1 minute and add red pepper flakes.
– Add peeled tomatoes, white wine, sugar and salt
– Smash the tomatoes to release the juices (I use a potato masher)
– Simmer over medium heat for 30 mins-ish until thick

For the crust:
1 1/3 Cup Flour (All purpose or bread)
1 Tsp Dry Instant Active Yeast
1/2 Cup Warm Water
1/2 Tsp Salt

– Add yeast and 1 cup flour to the water and mix
– Add salt and final 1/3 cup flour to mixture and mix/knead until it forms a very sticky dough. I know its weird for it to be so sticky but trust me you’re doing it right! (If the dough seems to dry, in other words, if it doesn’t stick all over your hands/spoon add some water)
– Place a clean towel over the bowl and let sit for 10-15 minutes
– Liberally butter a 16 inch pizza pan and with floured hands spread the dough on the pan. Be patient it takes a few minutes and little love, its worth it.
– Allow to rest for 10 more minutes

*Apply a layer of sauce to the crust as thin or thick as you like (I found a layer on the thinner side works best for me). Add LOTS of fresh basil leaves and fresh mozzarella…the fresh mozz is the key!!!

*Bake for 10 mins at 450 degrees. Now dive in. You can thank me later 🙂

Leave a comment