Fantastic veggie and bean soup!!!

Sorry it took me so long…I got the recipe from Tammysrecipes.com which Lauren turned me on to (I figured if an awesome cook like her uses these recipes I should give them a try!) So here it is….

Yield: 

6 servings

Ingredients: 

1 tablespoon oil
3 medium carrots, diced
2 ribs celery with leaves, diced
1 medium onion, chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
7 cups chicken broth (or water; it’s good either way)
2 cups cooked great northern beans
2 cups cooked red kidney beans
2 cups tomatoes (may be canned) (I used stewed)
1 tablespoon dried basil
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1 tablespoon sugar
1 teaspoon parsley
10 ounces fresh spinach leaves, coarsely chopped (about 12 cups loose leaves before it’s chopped, or about 6 cups coarsely chopped)
salt, to taste

Instructions: 

1. Heat oil in a large stock pot over medium heat. Add carrots, celery, onion, and garlic. Cook and stir for 5 minutes.

2. Add broth, beans, tomatoes, basil, pepper, sugar, and parsley. Bring to a boil and simmer, uncovered, for about 30 minutes, until carrots are tender and flavors are well-spread throughout the soup.

3. Reduce heat to low and stir in spinach. Cook and stir until spinach is wilted. Add salt to taste

Its SOO yummy and satisfying! Definitely do not leave out the spinach it totally completes the soup. And to make it a bit heartier I add a few baby red potatoes cut into quarters. Enjoy!!!

Comments
One Response to “Fantastic veggie and bean soup!!!”
  1. Lauren says:

    Yummy! I totally browsed right over this recipe, but it sounds delicious! I can’t wait to make this…I get spinach from costco and NEVER use it all up…this will be a big help…and a delicious and healthy recipe! Thanks!

Leave a comment